Healthy Oatmeal Cookies

Fibre? What? Where?

Oh, here you are.

I’m studying Dietetics, so I’m supposed to tell you to eat more healthy foods, more veggies, more fruits, more legumes, more whole grains, more nuts and seeds, etc. And God forbid we ever tell you to “NOT” do anything, don’t consume a lot of sodium, a lot of saturated fats, a lot of red meat, don’t sit on your butt all day. No no no, don’t tell them NOT to do anything, we’re told.

So eat cookies.

And get your fibre.

Yes, professor, I didn’t tell them NOT to do anything. Does that mean I pass? I do?

Yay!

Healthy Oatmeal Cookies

makes 2 dozen cookies

1/2 c. softened butter, salted (add 1/2 tsp. salt if you have unsalted)
1/3 c. packed light brown sugar
1/3 c. white sugar
1 large egg
2/3 c. whole wheat all-purpose flour
3/4 tsp. baking soda
2 c. quick-cooking rolled oats

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugars until soft  and fluffy.
3. Blend in egg until smooth.
4. Add flour, baking soda, and oats.
5. Stir the heck out of it. (Until blended)
6. Drop rounded tablespoons onto lighted greased or parchment paper-lined cookie sheets.
7. Bake 8-10 minutes, or until browned around the outside.
8. Cookies will be soft, let them stand on the cookie sheets for a minute before removing.

Old-Fashioned Oatmeal Cookies on Foodista

6 Comments

Filed under Cookies

6 responses to “Healthy Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Pam De Voe

    Okay, I saw these on the Bread Experience Blog &, I must say, they are just up my alley! A nutritous treat! I’ll give it a try next week (already doing more muffins, so this week’s “treat” is covered!).

  2. Okay, I saw these on the Bread Experience Blog &, I must say, they are just up my alley! A nutritous treat! I’ll give it a try next week (already doing more muffins, so this week’s “treat” is covered!).

    • I’m glad you are concerned with being healthy! I try to include whole wheat flour and oats wherever I can these days too. What muffins are you making?

  3. Debbie

    I just stumbled upon this recipe and made these cookies. Wow…they are amazing!! I think they would taste great with dark chocolate chips, too. Thanks for sharing!

  4. CookingChic

    I am making cookies for my parents so I thought ..” Hm..it would be nice to give them a cookie that tasted good and was good for them” However, once I tried it, I realized that there wasn’t any flavor. This may be based only on my experience though. I decided to add 1 teaspoon of vanilla and a couple of dashes of nutmeg to really bring out some flavor. I cut the sugar to 1/4 for each type of sugar and decided to roll the cookie dough in sugar so it would give it a nice crispness. After these few modifications, the cookies came out great and had the perfect amount of sweetness. Happy baking~

  5. I just tried this recipe (the cookies are still warm!). Oh my goodness. The texture and consistency is just wonderful. I did half the recipe as normal, I merely added raisins. With the other half I added cinnamon, nutmeg, raisins and craisins.
    Thank you so much for this recipe. Ill be placing this in my arsenal of recipes!

Leave a comment