Cheese Coins (Failed Gougeres)

Let me tell you something.

I like cream puffs. I like making cream puffs. I like serving cream puffs. I like eating cream puffs. I like that the choux pastry is easy to make and is so flexible. I have never had a fallen cream puff. Ever.

Until now.

Well, technically, a gougere is not a cream puff, but rather a savory application of the choux pastry dough. The dough is rich in eggs, which provides the steam so the puffs can, well, puff. Gougeres are a slightly richer dough with grated cheese mixed in.

For some unfathomable reason I seemed to have put too much milk, or moisture in the dough, which caused it to be able to incorporate less egg. Less egg means less structure and rise. Which means a fallen puff.

It is a sad, sad thing.

However, the poor things wrinkled up attractively and had terrific flavour. Both my siblings loved it and had one after another. Which I guess is a good thing. But until I recover from my cream puff failure, I won’t post the recipe for gougeres.

I guess sometimes baking is forgiving.

1 Comment

Filed under Beautiful Disasters, Snacks

One response to “Cheese Coins (Failed Gougeres)

  1. Pingback: If at first you don’t succeed…try try again | Buttery Bakery

Leave a Reply

