Shrimp Pasta with Lime for Lunch

You know what? I became six years old today. I skipped down the road with my six-year-old little sister. It was a sight. I’m not sure if I still skip as gracefully as I did back then, but I do know that I have to skip slower for Carolyn to keep up.

I did feel younger momentarily. You should try it one day. Just do something completely childish, like skipping down the road, yell “EWW!! COOTIES!!!”, or something.

Then I played frisbee with the kids, and Carolyn, as bad luck would have it, got hit in the nose with the disk. So the poor dear got a nosebleed and I helped her to calm down and clean up. Then she said later that I looked like a mom.

I felt older momentarily. Much older than I should feel. But Carolyn is okay, and after she ate a fudgsicle, she was better than okay.

Then we had lunch, which was pasta. Pasta with shrimp and broccoli, and a sauce with onions, garlic, and lime. I used whole wheat penne. Hey, gotta get your fibre right? And I added some cooked mussels, out of their shell, just because we happened to have it.

Shrimp Pasta with Lime
serves 4, for lunch

1/2 medium onion, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
4 tsp. olive oil
1 Tbsp. butter
3 Tbsp. whole milk or cream
1/2 lime
salt and pepper
1 small crown broccoli, broken into florets
1/2 lb. large shrimp, peeled, and the shell reserved
8 oz. penne pasta

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil, add the shrimp shells. Boil for a couple minutes, then use a slotted spoon to remove the shells and discard. Add the pasta.
  2. Heat a large sauce on medium high, add the olive oil. When oil is hot, add the onion and garlic. Stir and let cook for 2-3 minutes, until starting to become soft. Sprinkle in some salt and pepper.
  3. Ladle in about 1/2 cupful of pasta water and reduce slightly on medium heat.
  4. Add the milk, then squeeze in the lime juice.
  5. Slide the butter into the sauce and stir in the shrimp. Simmer for 2-3 minutes.
  6. Meanwhile, add the broccoli to the pasta pot with the pasta still in it. If you test a piece of pasta, it should still be hard in the middle. Boil all together for another 2-3 minutes or until broccoli is crisp tender.
  7. Drain the pasta and broccoli and add to the saucepan. Toss well to coat. Season again.
  8. Turn off the heat but keep tossing until the sauce is mostly absorbed. Serve.
Leave a comment

Filed under Lunch, Seafood

Leave a Reply

