Cocoa Krispies Ice Cream Sandwiches

Can I have ice cream? Please? Pretty please? With a cherry on top, er, on the side?


Yes, of course. It’s too hot for much of anything else. Like turning on my oven. So I made rice krispies squares, the chocolate version, with plenty of marshmallows, and scooped up a healthy serving of ice cream. Cool and sweet. I usually make the square on the stove in a large wok, but since my wok was occupied I set a large metal bowl over a pot of simmering water and made marshmallow flush that way. Equally good I’d say. I even tasted the melty-gooey-sticky fluff twice, just to make sure. Then I scooped up some with my finger, to check the texture. You believe me right? Actually, when I was little, I didn’t like marshmallows all that much, I thought they had a weird texture and not much taste. (I don’t know where my sweet tooth was) In recent years though, I’ve discovered the greatness of marshmallows, especially melted.

Oh, there’s that cherry on top.


Cocoa Krispies Squares
makes one 15×10 pan, for ice cream sandwiches, or one 9×13 pan, just for snacking

6 cups crispy rice cereal
3 Tbsp. butter
1 package (10.5 oz) marshmallows, or 40 large ones, or 4 cups mini ones, just toss the whole package in there
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 heaping Tbsp. cocoa powder

In a large wok, (see how Asian I am, but then again, I don’t like rice, so I don’t know what kind of Asian I am) melt the butter over low heat. Add the marshmallows, heat gently, stirring, until melted. Actually, any large saucepan would work. Or you can do the double broiler method that I did today. Equally fine. When you have a lot of melty-gooey-stickiness on your hands, take the spoon and feed yourself some. Then add the vanilla and the cocoa powder. Stir until you have a chocolate melty-gooey-stickiness on your hands, then take that spoon and feed yourself some more. Chocolate melted marshmallows? Yes please. Even without a cherry on top. Now turn off the heat and dump the cereal in. Mix quickly and evenly, until the cereal is all coated.

Using wet fingers, press into a lightly greased pan, whichever size you chose. I used cooking spray. Good idea to grease the pan ahead of time because you’re likely to have marshmallow fluff hands by now. Smooth the top using wet fingers. Water will keep the mixture from sticking to your hands. Let the mixture set for at least 30 minutes. Put it in the fridge if you must, since it is HOT these days.

Cut into squares and add a scoop of ice cream in between two squares. Enjoy the crispy chewy chilly goodness!


Stay cool! :

Leave a comment

Filed under Chocolate, Cookies, Desserts

Leave a Reply

